Saranac Lake Fire Department

2022 Incidents
Jan 34
Feb 23
Mar 36
Apr 60
May 27
Jun 23
Jul 40
Aug 34
Sep 35
Oct 34
Nov 0
Dec 0
Total 346

Past Incidents
2021 342
2020 260
2019 354
2018 389
2017 342
2016 293
2015 290
2014 331
2013 358
2012 281
2011 322
2010 259
2009 174
2008 195
2007 191

Web Counters
Website Visitors
April 20, 2010
Visitors Today
Nov 26, 2022

The Chiefs Award

The "Chiefs Award" is awarded annually by the chief of the department to the person he or she considers to have made the most outstanding contribution to the department. Instituted in 1989 by Chief Don Duso, "Chiefs Award" recipients are honored at our annual banquet with a plaque. A perpetual plaque is also maintained at the fire house listing all previous recipients of the award.

Chiefs Award Recipients

2021-2022 John Wamsganz by Chief Brenan Keough Click for Story
2020-2021 No banquet due to the Covid pandemic
2019-2020 No banquet due to the Covid pandemic
2018-2019 Dominic Fontana by Chief Brendan Keough Click for Story
2017-2018 Michael Knapp by Chief Brendan Keough Click for Story
2016-2017 Rick Yorkey by Chief Brendan Keough Click for Story
2015-2016 Doug Peck and Don Jones by Chief Brendan Keough
2014-2015 James D'Ambro by Chief Brendan Keough
2013-2014 Ken McLaughlin by Chief Brendan Keough
2012-2013 Tim Donaldson by Chief Brendan Keough
2011-2012 Jim Stinson by Chief Brendan Keough Click for Story
2010-2011 Kent Robinson by Chief Brendan Keough Click for Story
2009-2010 The Board of the Newly Formed Rescue Corporation by Chief Chuck Dobson Click for Story
2008-2009 Drivers & Officers & Members by Chief Don Duso
2007-2008 Mary Brown & Vernon James & Dave Bickford by Chief Don Duso
2006-2007 Vernon James & Dave Bickford by Chief Don Duso
2005-2006 Casey Taylor by Acting Chief Andy McGill
2004-2005 Frank Brier by Chief Robert Girard
2003-2004 All Members by Chief Don Duso
2002-2003 Ed Woodard by Chief Don Duso
2001-2002 Harrison Kent by Chief Ed Woodard
2000-2001 Rhonda Marrone by Chief Ed Woodard
1999-2000 John Derby by Chief Ed Woodard
1998-1999 Casey Taylor by Chief Ed Woodard
1997-1998 Father Chris Carrera by Chief Andy McGill
1996-1997 Paid Drivers by Chief Andy McGill
1995-1996 Edward Hoyt by Chief Harrison Kent
1994-1995 Dive Team by Chief Robert Girard
1993-1994 Jim Stinson By Chief Robert Girard
1992-1993 Dave Martelle by Chief Ed Woodard
1991-1992 Ricky Burch By Chief Ed Woodard
1990-1991 Richard Burman Sr. By Chief Don Duso
1989-1990 Carl Smith By Chief Don Duso
1988-1989 First Award Given To All Members By Chief Don Duso

Top 5 Awards

Top 5 awards are awarded to the members who have responded to the most fire calls.


1 Michael Knapp
2 Dominic Fontana
3 Christina Fontana
4 Brendan Keough
5 Nate Jones



Fireman Of The Year

The Northern New York Volunteer Firemen's Association recognizes a "Fireman of the Year".  Fireman of the year candidates are nominated from the ranks of hundreds of volunteer firefighters from throughout northern NY. The recipient of this award is normally cited for bravery or a life saving action in the line of duty.  Runner up candidates in this competion are sometimes cited for meritorious service when the nomination substantiates bravery or a life saving action. The Saranac Lake Volunteer Fire Department is very proud of its members who have been nominated, and selected for fireman of the year and meritrious service awards.

Firemen Of The Year

1982 Kent Robinson -1
1982 Kevin Tuthill -1
1989 Ed Hoyt -2
2012 John Derby -3
2012 John Duchaine -3
2012 Aaron Donaldson-3
2012 Brendan Keough -3
2015 Casey Taylor -4
2016 Ed Woodard -5
2016 Ken McLaughlin -5
2016 Jim Stinson -5
2016 Doug Peck -5
2016 Trevor Keough -5

-1 Award shared by these members for saving the lives of 7 people at the 1981 Berkley Hotel fire. This was the first time the award was given to a team and not a single individual.

-2 Ed Hoyt is currently a member of the SLVFD he was a member of the Paul Smiths Gabriels Volunteer Fire Department at the time of his award. Ed was cited for life saving action at a structure fire.

-3 Award shared by these 4 members for rescuing a man from within a burning apartment on the second floor of the Prescott house on Franklin Avenue.  Click Here For Full Story

-4 Casey Taylor was honored for saving a person from a burning apartment on River Street on October 4th 2015.
Click Here For Full Story

-5 Award shared by these 5 members for saving the life of SLVFD Lieutenant Don Jones during a rooftop fall.  Click Here For Full Story

Meritorious Service

Ron Muncil -6
Robert Nadon -7
Mike Dupree -7
Dave Martelle -7
Ken McLaughlin -7
Wade Sullivan -7

-6 Ron Muncil was cited for life saving action at a structure fire.

-7 Award shared by these 5 members for life saving actions when 2 pulseless victims were retrieved from a submerged vehicle and then successfully resuscitated.

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions

Saranac Lake Volunteer Fire Department
100 Broadway
PO Box 509
Saranac Lake NY 12983

Emergency: 911
Non-Emergency: 518-891-2333
Station Fax: 518-891-6991
Copyright © 2022 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)